Science and Mountain at the Canadian Digestive Disease week 2015

By Sharmin Begum, PhD Candidate (Chadee lab)

The research topics in gastrointestinal diseases program along with Canadian Digestive Diseases Week (CDDW) 2015 were held from February 25th to March 1st, at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel and Conference Centre in Banff. I was really fortunate to have the opportunity to give a 10 minute talk about my research work in the Research Topics in GI Diseases Program on  February 26th . The research topics session covered a very diverse area of topics, both clinical and basic science research. These sessions were mostly for different clinicians and graduate students and highly interactive. Everyone was assigned for two abstracts to review and asked questions based on the abstract and presentation. After this session, I found that the research on microbiota and its relation with IBD, Crohn’s disease and other gastrointestinal dysfunctions were the most striking. After finishing all of the mesmerizing talks, I went to my room in the hotel. The hotel was really nice as I was able to see different locations and mountain views from my room.

After the first two days of GI research topics the core CDDW program began. This was a really big program with different sessions going on in different rooms. I picked the sessions which were relevant to my research work and I felt unfortunate because of this may be I missed some other interesting talks . I attended the inflammasome talk of Dr.Dan Muruve from University of Calgary where he focused on inflammasomes in chronic kidney disease. Also some graduate students presented their research work as their abstracts were selected for this special talk. I also attended a session, ” Inflammation and Cancer” where a professor from University of Toronto gave a talk on Apoptosis. Dr.Paul Beck from the University of Calgary gave a talk on his journey as a scientist and it was really amazing. I found the sessions were a combination of different topics like microbiota, inflammation and colitis and all of these are interrelated. There was also a trainee career development session where Dr. Tamia Lapointe and Dr. Fernand-Pierre Gendron mentioned some important points about pursuing post-doctorate positions and what should be considered during looking for position and professor.

On the last day, there was a poster session and I had to present my poster. Unbelievably there were around 300 posters which were mostly on clinical research. It was really crowed but still I enjoyed the poster session and received some good suggestions regarding my research and also was able to talk with different people. This was my first time in CDDW conference and I really liked it both for the high quality research work and the location of the conference. And finally, I would like to give my thanks to the HPI NSERC CREATE for funding me to attend this conference.

Leave a Reply

