Canadian Digestive Diseases Week – Banff 2015

From February 27th to March 2nd, the Canadian association of gastroenterology (GAG) promoted the Canadian Digestive Diseases Week (CDDW) and CASL Winter Meeting 2015 in Banff . CDDW aggregates basic and clinical scientists interested in Inflammatory Bowel Disease, gastrointestinal tract cancer, gastrointestinal parasite infection and gastrointestinal health. It is a wonderful opportunity to see new basic works and to see translation of the basic sciences to the clinical work.

The conference was hosted at Banff Springs Hotel. It is a wonderful castle situated in the Rocky Mountains. Banff region is the most beautiful place I have ever been to. Mountains were covered by snow, and surrounding areas were covered by blue rivers and lakes.

 IMG_0997IMG_0951
As soon as I arrived, I attended a session dedicated to intestinal epithelium. As I study interaction between H. diminuta and intestinal epithelial cells, mucosa immunity and barrier function in epithelial monolayers, this session was amazing!
I had the opportunity to present two of my projects. The session was very productive. I received comments that helped with my future directions. This is the moment where we can learn by sharing our experiences.
I thank HPI for sponsoring my travel to attend this conference. The learning experience and networking has made an impact on me and will be important for developing my future career.
Leave a Reply

