American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists | By: Camila Almeida Queiroz

Hello everybody! My name is Camila Queiroz, I have just arrived to University of Calgary so maybe few people from NSERC CREATE Host-Parasite Interactions (HPI) group know me. I am a first year PhD student at the UofC, working on sheep nematodes under the supervision of Dr. John Gilleard and Dr. Michel Levy. My project focuses on investigate sheep nematodes benzimidazole resistance in Western Canadian farms.

The last month I had the opportunity to attend the 61st American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists (AAVP) annual Meeting at the Westin Riverwalk, in San Antonio, Texas, US. The AAVP annual meeting is one of the most important gatherings of researchers, students, and clinicians for the dissemination of the new information and insightful perspectives on the biology and control of parasites of veterinary importance. The conference was held for four days from August 6-9, 2016.

I was excited because this was my first time attending the AAVP Meeting, and I have only attended the UofC for 3 months, and I was going to present my PhD project in an oral talk. The Meeting exceeded expectations, the student talks were excellent and covered a variety of topics including New vistas in HPI; Ectoparasites; Heartworm; Molecular and Biochemical; Treatment, control, diagnosis and epidemiology for dogs, cats and large animal; Anthelmintic resistance and Immunology of Haemonchus contortus.

Overall, it was a really friendly environment, and I was so impressed with having the chance to meet and talk with other students and professors whose articles I had read many times! The many social sessions provided opportunities for networking and sharing knowledge. I enjoyed a lot this Meeting! I also got free time to explore the city, visiting the Alamo and the Riverwalk region.

NSERC CREATE HPI supported all the expenses associated with the trip. I therefore want to highly thank my supervisors, Dr. John Gilleard Dr. Michel Levy, our program coordinator, Teresa Emmett and HPI executives for providing me this opportunity.

 

camila blog.png

 

Leave a Reply

