Mothur Workshop in Detroit | By Camila Queiroz

On 14th to 16th December 2016 I had the opportunity to attend a Mothur workshop, a free software for bioinformatics analysis developed for microbial ecology community.

The workshop is offered twice a year in Detroit, Michigan, US, by his creator, Dr. Patrick Schloss. There was around 100 people from different areas, most of them working with microbiome, but in different areas. I was amazed of seeing so many different applications of microbiome and for sharing knowledge and experiences with people with different backgrounds.

Some important topics were covered by the course, as an overview of methods used in microbial ecology, DNA sequencing technologies, improving sequence quality and population level analyses. It was relevant to me as a PhD Student since my project is studying the nematode population genetics and the molecular epidemiology of the resistance against the anthelmintics used in Canada and those commercially available but not used in Canada yet.

The course mixed theory and hands-on practices using mothur software and we also had opportunity to talk about our research’s challenges and aims. Overall, it was a friendly environment and I strongly recommend this course for those who will work with molecular ecology and population study.

The back home was a real challenge – due to weather conditions my flight was cancelled and then altered twice. Because of it, I had to spent the night on Chicago waiting for the flight back the following day. I was supposed to arrive in Calgary on Saturday 3pm and I got here on Monday 3am. However, it was not so bad since I had some colleagues from the workshop in the same situation – someone to complain with!

NSERC CREATE HPI supported all the expenses associated with the trip. I therefore want to highly thank my supervisors, Dr. John Gilleard Dr. Michel Levy, our program coordinator, Teresa Emmett and HPI executives for providing me this opportunity.

Leave a Reply

