A short and compact conference on Amebiasis in a warm city in India | By Sharmin Begum

The very short AMOEBAC conference 2016 (November 1-2 2016) was held in New Delhi, capital city of India. This was my first conference on the Asian Subcontinent, and I was really happy to have the opportunity to give a 15-minute talk about my research. To attend the meeting I started my journey two days earlier, as India is so far from Calgary. It was really long journey and after a 20-hour flight with two layovers, I reached India early in the morning. The gentle weather in the morning refreshed all my tiredness from the long journey. I took a taxi to the guesthouse (Indian National Science Academy, INSA) where the conference was arranged. In the morning, we had a good traditional Indian breakfast, and as I am from this part of the world I really enjoyed the food. After breakfast, I had a chance to explore New Delhi, and so I took a taxi to visit famous places close to the science academy. The very well known Delhi Gate was very close, and after that I visited Red fort, Raj Ghat, and Firoz Shah Kotla. I was walking through the streets and really enjoying the city. After having lunch with delicious Indian food the conference started. It was a small conference but so intense. Scientist, students working on Entamoeba histolytica from Japan, USA, Mexico, Canada, and host country India were present their research work, published work and new ideas. On that evening we had 6 talks and among them two were related to the newest findings in amoeba. The dinner was nice and I talked to a lot of students from India. They told me about places to visit, shopping and restaurants. The following day, sessions began after breakfast and it was a fully packed day.

The first talk was given by Dr. Nancy Guillen and after her powerful talk my supervisor Dr. Kris Chadee gave his talk with answering some unknown facts about amoeba infection. I was also presenting my research approach and interest and received some good opinions about my project. It was really very interactive conference and because of the small number of people within one day we all became familiar to everyone.

At the end of the day the organizer of such a dense, short and, well-designed conference Dr. Alok Bhattacharya gave his thank you and closing remarks. Then, we had a dinner and after that me and my supervisor left the guest house for the airport to catch our flights back to Calgary.

sharminThe conference was short, but the content was really remarkable. Hospitality from the local people was really warm. The conference was well organized, and allowed us to talk and get familiar with everyone while sharing our research interests, and ideas. Personally, for me it was a great experience, and if anyone ever has a chance to visit India, they should not miss that opportunity. I am looking forward to attend another such conference again. I would like to give my heartiest thanks to HPI NSERC CREATE for providing funding for me to attend such an impressive and knowledgeable conference.

Leave a Reply

