Another conference? Yes please! – The Banff Inflammation Workshop | By Tim Jayme

With an opportunity to attend another conference, how could I not apply for an HPI travel award? As I have grown as a Masters student, I really appreciate the opportunities that come from attending these conferences which enable self-development, scientific training, and networking. This conference in particular was one that I was excited about; my work focuses on intestinal inflammation and the program had a lot of big names in this field attending. I also heard it was a lot of fun, a “what happens in Banff stays in Banff” kind of fun.

As I said, there are many big names coming to this event from all over the world with visitors such such as Dr. Linda Chia-Hui Yu from Taiwan National University who was here to speak about LPS receptor signaling andUntitled Dr. Steven Proulx from ETH Zurich who was here to about in vivo imaging of the lymphatic system in mice (both of which were really amazing and interesting talks), to name a few. Seeing the global contributions from researchers all over the world in studying inflammation was empowering for me. I also quickly realized that many of these researchers have known each other for quite some time. Dr. Linda Chia-Hui Yu, for example, was a former student of one of our very own HPI professors, Dr. Andre Buret. I am all about staying connected with people who have had a great influence on your growth and career. Seeing this really inspires me as I journey through my career in science.

Of course, you cannot have a conference without poster presentations. Every presenter had amazing research on display that focused on different areas of inflammation. Some science was based on pain and inflammation, cancer and inflammation, or my personal favorite, gut inflammation. It was a very relaxed 2 hours where I got to share my work while holding a nice beverage in hand. All in all, it was quite a great night.

To conclude the event, we had Jay Ingram speak about science communication. I was very happy to see we invited Jay Ingram to speak because I am also an advocate for science communication and education. So you can bet I was certainly writing notes during his presentation.

I am constantly trying to grow as a scientific researcher so I am very thankful to HPI for the opportunity to have attended this conference.

 

 

Leave a Reply

